A forum for owners of the Siberian Husky.
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterRegisterLog in
Congratulations Jack and Jen B!, our October HOTM winners! HOTM - November : TBA!
Husky of the Month
Congrats Jack and Jen B,
our October HOTM Winners!
Huskies in Disguise!





Thanks to all for this month's entries!
Forum Rules
1. Here we prefer clarity to agreement. Obviously not everyone is going to agree on a topic; here we prefer to talk out our differences in a respectful manner to ensure mutual understanding and respect.
2. Read the Stickies and Announcements. Each sub-forum may have specific rules which trump the Forum Rules in cases where there may be conflicting information. Read the rules of each board before you post so that you are clear on the expectations of the staff.
3. Respect ALL Staff and Admins. These people volunteer of their time and MUST be respected as well as their word adhered to. They are responsible for maintaining a free, open, clear and organized forum. Anyone found to be openly undermining any official ruling by a staff member will be warned.
4. Signatures: One picture only and no links. Images: To keep the forum looking neat and tidy, we ask that members insert just one picture only in their signatures. The picture should be no more than 200x500 pixels and should be of an appropriate subject, for example, your dogs and their names. Should you need assistance creating an appropriate signature, please PM an Admin and we would be happy to help! This is to ensure that signatures remain a welcome addition to our forum instead of a cumbersome distraction. Links: Hyperlinks in signatures--unless to a personal blog or photo stream of your dogs (like Flckr or Piscasa, for example)--are strictly prohibited. Please PM a staff member with any questions or concerns regarding this rule.
Rescue Spotlight
Our current rescue spotlight is:

Tails of the Tundra Siberian Husky Rescue!

Top Dog Website Award Winner!

Top Website
for
Siberian

Huskys


Share | .
 

 Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
athenalove
Newborn
Newborn
avatar

Female Join date : 2013-03-16

PostSubject: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:42 pm

Hey everyone, I have a 4 month old husky who I am currently feeding Natural Balance Limited Ingredient - which is an "all life stages" food. His stool has been solid, he gobbles it up, and I haven't had problems with this brand, however, my vet highly encouraged me to get him on a large breed puppy food for calcium ratio purposes.

I picked up Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy today. Before I start transitioning, has anyone had experience with this brand of food? Good, bad, ugly reviews?

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
SaraB
Rescue Subject Moderator
avatar

Female Join date : 2010-09-09
Location : Deltona, FL

PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:24 pm

I don't have any experience with that food, but siberians are not a large breed dog! Unless your pups parents were super big, I wouldn't worry about switching to a large breed formula. They are not Great Danes. Lol!

_________________
-Sara

Back to top Go down
http://www.thestormbornreef.com/
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:15 am

Sara, was wondering, when Miya was a young pup, and back when I wasn't that smart with kibble, I gave Miya normal puppy kibble and she wouldn't chew her food, when I switched her to a large breed puppy kibble, the kibble was 3 times the size and she would actually chew it. Was wondering if that maybe a good reason to try it? Does swallowing vs chewing make a difference on food absorption? Btw, my vet told me Miya would top out at 100 pounds, lol, goes to show what some vets know about huskies.
Renee


Last edited by MiyasMomma on Sun Jul 06, 2014 3:02 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : had a vet haha)
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:58 am

Athenalove, I'm sorry never answered your question. I never heard of it until Miya was older, never used it. I have known a few gsd owners who did and liked it. Not sure how I'm supposed to mention, but a few others have mentioned this site, I've gone there too, called dogfood advisor, I think. It lists info and rates dog food, example taste of the wild rates 4 and 5 stars out of 5. I think people review there as well. If the food is not too new you should be able to get info there.
Back to top Go down
athenalove
Newborn
Newborn
avatar

Female Join date : 2013-03-16

PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:13 pm

Thanks MiyasMomma! I will check those out!
Back to top Go down
Eresh
Adult
Adult
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-10-06
Location : Space Coast, Florida

PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:22 pm

If your dog is growing well, healthy, good poops, why change? But yes, the calcium:phosphorus ratio is important for growing pups (actually, it's excessive calcium you need to watch for). Look at your current bag. If the calcium:phosphorus ratio is close to 1, then it's fine. I'm not familiar with your brand, but most all life stages food has the proper ratio. [EDIT] I looked up your current brand, and the calcium level is fine at 1% with .8% phosphorus.
Also, the large breed kibble is unnecessary for a husky, which is a medium size breed. If you're worried about your pup eating too fast, try one of those dog bowls designed to slow them down.
Finally, and this differs from how most people here feel so feel free to disregard.... do more research beyond dogfoodadvisor, who is a human dentist, and the internet. Ask around some people with expertise (by training) in canine nutrition. That won't be most vets either. Try the universities that do veterinary research.
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:53 pm

Samantha, great info. Have you heard of the other place called dogfood analysis? Similar to advisor, didn't know he was a dentist, ugg, I read advisor mainly for the reviews from people just to get an idea on the particular kibble. It also lists recalls. But in the end I do take the info with a grain of salt. With my girl it wasn't the speed she ate, I think she didn't know what to do with it, I introduced her to RMB's at about the same time, and it took her so long to eat. With the kibble she would pick up 10-20 pieces at a time and it was a mess, swallow instead of chew, spit out all over the place, throw up because of not chewing. It terrified me that if she ate while I was gone she would choke, switched to larger kibble and no more problems. She has outgrown this, I was worried when I switched her to totw, small kibble and she still picks up a ton but she now chews.
Renee
Back to top Go down
Eresh
Adult
Adult
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-10-06
Location : Space Coast, Florida

PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sun Jul 06, 2014 3:12 pm

Renee, I feel that dogfood analysis is a bit sketchy because 1. there's an advertisement for one particular brand on every page, 2. there are no sources cited for their information, and 3. there's no information about the qualifications of the people rating the foods.
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sun Jul 06, 2014 3:17 pm

Samantha, Good to know, I prefer the forum to get info from real people anyway. Thank you for sharing.
Renee
Back to top Go down
athenalove
Newborn
Newborn
avatar

Female Join date : 2013-03-16

PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   Sun Jul 06, 2014 3:59 pm

Eresh,

Thanks so much for this info.  I haven't started the transition yet, as I've been doing research, just as you mentioned, on other credible sites about this food.  My boy's mom has some Canadian Eskimo in her, so he may be a big boy - he is currenlty growing about 2 lbs per week!

I also recently found this from peteducation.com:

Calcium and phosphorous requirements of dogs in their peak growth stage is 1.0-1.8% Calcium and 0.8-1.6% for Phosphorous. Solid Gold meets that requirement, but it does sound high.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?   

Back to top Go down
 

Reviews on Solid Gold Wolf Cub Large Breed Puppy?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» Rare breed beanie
» How does one choose seed that will breed true?
» 6.5 lbs of Yukon Gold potatoes
» Need help with large community garden plot.
» Large Scale Square Foot Gardening

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
It's a Husky Thing - Siberian Husky Forum :: Advice and Discussion Forums :: Nutrition and Feeding-