A forum for owners of the Siberian Husky.
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterRegisterLog in
Congratulations Jack and Jen B!, our October HOTM winners! HOTM - November : TBA!
Husky of the Month
Congrats Jack and Jen B,
our October HOTM Winners!
Huskies in Disguise!





Thanks to all for this month's entries!
Forum Rules
1. Here we prefer clarity to agreement. Obviously not everyone is going to agree on a topic; here we prefer to talk out our differences in a respectful manner to ensure mutual understanding and respect.
2. Read the Stickies and Announcements. Each sub-forum may have specific rules which trump the Forum Rules in cases where there may be conflicting information. Read the rules of each board before you post so that you are clear on the expectations of the staff.
3. Respect ALL Staff and Admins. These people volunteer of their time and MUST be respected as well as their word adhered to. They are responsible for maintaining a free, open, clear and organized forum. Anyone found to be openly undermining any official ruling by a staff member will be warned.
4. Signatures: One picture only and no links. Images: To keep the forum looking neat and tidy, we ask that members insert just one picture only in their signatures. The picture should be no more than 200x500 pixels and should be of an appropriate subject, for example, your dogs and their names. Should you need assistance creating an appropriate signature, please PM an Admin and we would be happy to help! This is to ensure that signatures remain a welcome addition to our forum instead of a cumbersome distraction. Links: Hyperlinks in signatures--unless to a personal blog or photo stream of your dogs (like Flckr or Piscasa, for example)--are strictly prohibited. Please PM a staff member with any questions or concerns regarding this rule.
Rescue Spotlight
Our current rescue spotlight is:

Tails of the Tundra Siberian Husky Rescue!

Top Dog Website Award Winner!

Top Website
for
Siberian

Huskys


Share | .
 

 Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Ericobeasto
Senior
Senior
avatar

Male Join date : 2012-11-20
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:39 pm

I really want to switch Koda from TOTW. but i need to find one with a price similar and the variety. I ran across Hi-tek on dog food advisor and I don't know much about dog food. Does anyone know anything about the brand that makes it? if they are good? also I don't know much about adult stage food... whats the difference (Koda is 2) but we also have a 5 month old puppy, and we would like to feed them the same if possible, is it ok for a puppy or no? please any info helps. thank you.
Back to top Go down
aljones
Senior
Senior
avatar

Male Join date : 2014-08-18
Location : Terlingua, Texas

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Well, if you were looking at this food then I'd say that there aren't many better. Dog food adviser is my "go to" for dog foods that I know nothing about.

In my opinion, your pup should stay on a good puppy food till he's about a year old. The food that I referenced would quite probably do for him since it is a good quality, high protein food - but my preference would be to stay with a puppy food for a bit longer.
Back to top Go down
Ericobeasto
Senior
Senior
avatar

Male Join date : 2012-11-20
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Sun Sep 21, 2014 11:07 pm

I found that food on dog food advisor. That site is a great source, and also my go to for any food related questions, but it can only help you so much. They strictely only rate by ingreidents. That is very important but there are also other factors to look at that I dont know much about. Im more curious about the "adult dog food part" and the maker. And opinions on the ratios of protein and etc.
Back to top Go down
Huskyluv
Resident Nutritional Bookworm
avatar

Female Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : Huntsville, AL

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Sun Sep 21, 2014 11:34 pm

I would stay away from Hi-Tek's grain inclusive formulas. Their grain free formulas are okay, could do with a bit more meat. Also they are lacking in variety when it comes to grain free formulas to choose from. They do make their own food though which is a positive. I wouldn't feed it personally, but I also wouldn't discourage others from feeding it.

I also personally prefer to keep puppies on a puppy specific food until 12 months but others do not and that's okay. It's more of a personal decision and both sides have their arguments. Out of curiosity, since the 2 dogs don't live together why the need to have them on the same food? Puppy foods tend to have different ratios and levels of various things which will vary from food to food. I have neither the time nor the desire to look at each individual food specifically to go into further detail.

In short, while I wouldn't go around recommending Hi-Tek's grain free formulas, it's a decent food for people that would like to include it in their rotation. Foods I do particularly recommend include Orijen, Acana, Fromm Four Star, and Farmina N&D.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Ericobeasto
Senior
Senior
avatar

Male Join date : 2012-11-20
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:02 am

Thank you val! Love your input. As for your question about the puppy, its not a big deal to be on diff food, just easy when she comes home on weekends so she doesnt have to bring any home. But most likely we will keep her on puppy.

Val another questions, between TOTW and hi-tek grain free, what do you think? Arcana, orjein, and fromm are out of my price range. I will have to look more into the other one you posted.
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:05 am

I wanted to ask, since Eric and I are feeling the same way about switching to a better food that's similar priced to TOTW. I totally agree with Orijen, Acana, Fromm, didn't research Farmina. When your buying a 20-30 pound bag, we're talking a $20 difference in price. I researched Hi-tek Eric, and apparently after the review they switched formulas, complaints ensued. I'm not a hundred percent sure, but if the food says all life stages, then it's suitable for puppies(high protein/fat, if memory serves me it needs to be 30% protein/20% fat minimal for puppies, and it needs calcium). With Fromm, Orijen, Acana they may be suitable since they are high protein. I did want to ask others if Merrick is suitable? It's closer to my price range, grain free, has variety and rated 4.5-5.0 at dog food advisor. The other one was Wysong, but I think that may be even more expensive than all the ones mentioned, but it was rated for dogs and cats and maybe an option since I could feed both on it. Anyone have opinions on Merrick and Wysong?
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:09 am

Eric, I've been looking online, that's the only way I can get any of these products, when buying 4-5 pound bags it's close to the TOTW price range. If you're talking 20-30 pound bags it's about a $20 difference. So far Merrick is the only one that seemed within $5 to TOTW when buying larger bags. I feel for you, I was so happy that I could afford TOTW, and now the air is out of my sails, just not happy with everything I have heard and read with TOTW.
Back to top Go down
Ericobeasto
Senior
Senior
avatar

Male Join date : 2012-11-20
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:11 am

Renee im feel exactly the same as you. I did earthborn for a lil while thinking about going back to that. Not sure its any better. I might end up just breaking and get something more expensivex idk though i really cant afford it.
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:18 am

the thing is, you have to dig deep, I was unaware that TOTW and a few others of that type, I'd have to pull the notice back up, is a Diamond food product. Nowhere on the label does it say that. If you type in TOTW recall, dog food advisor pops up a paid only thread, Diamond was sued and others like TOTW was involved, so it limited my choices again. Freaked me out. I don't know if Eartborn was one of them. I know Merrick has been around since like 1979, and made here in Texas, and everything else I mentioned above. I may dig into Canada based dog foods and see what's available that way, I'll keep you posted.
Btw, I tend to read peoples comments after looking at the ratings at dog food advisor, that's how I got my info on Hi-Teks formula change.
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:31 am

The following is a list of all the brands currently associated with the Diamond Dog Food Recall:

4Health
Apex
Canidae
Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover’s Soul
Country Value
Diamond
Diamond Naturals
News Release April 6, 2012
News Release May 18, 2012
Kirkland Signature
Natural Balance
Premium Edge
Professional
Solid Gold
Taste of the Wild
Wellness
I wanted to add that these products are associated with Diamond, hence why I'm avoiding.
Back to top Go down
Huskyluv
Resident Nutritional Bookworm
avatar

Female Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : Huntsville, AL

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:44 am

Short on time here, but real quick response to questions.

Eric, between TOTW and Hi-Tek (grain free) I'd choose Hi-Tek. As i said before, it's a decent food.

Renee, I had forgotten Merrick and that is another I would strongly recommend. Solid food and company that makes their own food.

_________________
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:56 am

Yay Val, Thank you!!

Eric take a look at Merrick, it's around $10 more, the reason I was interested was that it was a meat based protein vs a plant based protein 5 star according to dog food advisor. They also had several flavors in the no grain category. Hope that helps some. The Earthborn was rated a 4 star and was plant based protein, although in between price of TOTW and Merrick.
Back to top Go down
Ericobeasto
Senior
Senior
avatar

Male Join date : 2012-11-20
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:36 pm

Merrick wouldnt work for koda. 3 out of the 4 flavors have turkey in them and koda is allergic to turkey. If it wasnt for that i would go to merric for sure..
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:23 pm

Eric were you looking at the whole earth farms recipe then you are correct. The merrick grain free line has 4 out of 7 without turkey, i did not check their classics because they all contain rice.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)   

Back to top Go down
 

Hi-tek Dog food. (please give your opinion)

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» Picture of my plate of food
» Food + Drink
» Campfire Angel Food Yummies
» food that is poisonus for goats
» What to plant in the Food Pantry plot

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
It's a Husky Thing - Siberian Husky Forum :: Advice and Discussion Forums :: Nutrition and Feeding-