A forum for owners of the Siberian Husky.
 
HomeSearchRegisterRegisterLog in
Congratulations Ami and Amy!, our September HOTM winners! HOTM - October : TBA!
Husky of the Month
Congrats Ami and Amy,
our September HOTM Winners!
Puppuccino Lovers!





Thanks to all for this month's entries!
Forum Rules
1. Here we prefer clarity to agreement. Obviously not everyone is going to agree on a topic; here we prefer to talk out our differences in a respectful manner to ensure mutual understanding and respect.
2. Read the Stickies and Announcements. Each sub-forum may have specific rules which trump the Forum Rules in cases where there may be conflicting information. Read the rules of each board before you post so that you are clear on the expectations of the staff.
3. Respect ALL Staff and Admins. These people volunteer of their time and MUST be respected as well as their word adhered to. They are responsible for maintaining a free, open, clear and organized forum. Anyone found to be openly undermining any official ruling by a staff member will be warned.
4. Signatures: One picture only and no links. Images: To keep the forum looking neat and tidy, we ask that members insert just one picture only in their signatures. The picture should be no more than 200x500 pixels and should be of an appropriate subject, for example, your dogs and their names. Should you need assistance creating an appropriate signature, please PM an Admin and we would be happy to help! This is to ensure that signatures remain a welcome addition to our forum instead of a cumbersome distraction. Links: Hyperlinks in signatures--unless to a personal blog or photo stream of your dogs (like Flckr or Piscasa, for example)--are strictly prohibited. Please PM a staff member with any questions or concerns regarding this rule.
Rescue Spotlight
Our current rescue spotlight is:

Tails of the Tundra Siberian Husky Rescue!

Top Dog Website Award Winner!

Top Website
for
Siberian

Huskys


Share
 

 Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
MyBoyMeeko
Newborn
Newborn
MyBoyMeeko

Join date : 2018-06-18
Location : Ohio

Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions?   Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? EmptyMon Feb 11, 2019 6:36 pm

So our vet has suggested to go forward with a gastroplasty to prevent bloat in my two huskies. Has anyone ever had an experience with bloat? Has anyone had a gastroplasty done to prevent it as well? I'm more or less looking for opinions as this takes a simple $130 spay to a whopping $545 surgery bill.
I'd appreciate ANY input!!!
Back to top Go down
aljones
Senior
Senior
aljones

Male Join date : 2014-08-18
Location : Terlingua, Texas

Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions?   Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? EmptyMon Feb 11, 2019 8:22 pm

I'm sorry, but I don't see a relationship between the two.

Bloat is when gas forms off of the dogs food (stomach contents) and that then presses against other internal organs - lungs being the main problem.

Gastroplasty is an operation to minimize the contents of the stomach - used for weight control in humans.

Gastroplexy on the other hand - I had to go look since you use both terms - is a procedure where the stomach is attached to the abdomen wall so that it can't twist ... seethis link for a better description.

If I had one of the large breed dogs for which bloating is common <???> I'd be inclined to go ahead if finances weren't a major concern.  Since Huskies are a medium sized dog ... at double the price, I wouldn't think too much about, since this triples the price ... I'd have to really think about it.

You might also want to look at this older thread where bloat in Huskies is discussed.
Back to top Go down
amymeme
Senior
Senior
amymeme

Female Join date : 2013-12-20

Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions?   Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? EmptyMon Feb 11, 2019 11:21 pm

I don't believe bloat common in huskies. I think I would at least get second opinion and quite possibly a new vet. Sounds to me like he's padding his wallet.

However, on the interest of thoroughness, I would certainly ask about his thought process why he thinks this is a good idea. Is there something about the structure your dog that conveys risk for bloat? Had she had bloat the past?

You might to search the incidence of bloat in Siberian husky and come prepared with high quality statistics.
Back to top Go down
Artic_Wind
Senior
Senior
Artic_Wind

Male Join date : 2014-07-23
Location : San Diego, California

Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions?   Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? EmptyMon Feb 11, 2019 11:33 pm

The way I read it, it's being recommended for both your Huskies?
Back to top Go down
amymeme
Senior
Senior
amymeme

Female Join date : 2013-12-20

Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions?   Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? EmptyMon Feb 11, 2019 11:41 pm

In addition, it looks like gastropexy has its own complications.

Use this search term: canine gastropexy complications.

Also search breeds prone to canine gastric dilation-volvulus. The medical term for bloat.
Back to top Go down
amymeme
Senior
Senior
amymeme

Female Join date : 2013-12-20

Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions?   Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? EmptyTue Feb 12, 2019 4:27 am

https://thebark.com/content/should-dog-get-gastropexy-prevent-bloat

Keep in mind, standard poodles are one of the breeds more prone to bloat. Siberians less so as they are a medium sized breed.

Though, have to admit, reading about structure that predisposes to bloat, my red boy is huge. And has a narrow chest. Not sure it would be be described as deep but does make me squirm a bit.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions?   Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions? Empty

Back to top Go down
 

Gastroplexy to prevent bloat, opinions?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» Prevent Squash vine borers and other problems?
» Need opinions on spinach
» Sand? Opinions?
» Sleeping Beauty Melon
» Fungus Control

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
It's a Husky Thing - Siberian Husky Forum :: Advice and Discussion Forums :: Medical Issues-