A forum for owners of the Siberian Husky.
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterRegisterLog in
Congratulations Balto, Sugar, Gizmo, Nova, and Melissa!, our December HOTM winners! HOTM - January : TBA!
Husky of the Month
Congrats Balto, Sugar, Gizmo, Nova and Melissa,
our December HOTM Winners!
Sweet Memories!





Thanks to all for this month's entries!
Forum Rules
1. Here we prefer clarity to agreement. Obviously not everyone is going to agree on a topic; here we prefer to talk out our differences in a respectful manner to ensure mutual understanding and respect.
2. Read the Stickies and Announcements. Each sub-forum may have specific rules which trump the Forum Rules in cases where there may be conflicting information. Read the rules of each board before you post so that you are clear on the expectations of the staff.
3. Respect ALL Staff and Admins. These people volunteer of their time and MUST be respected as well as their word adhered to. They are responsible for maintaining a free, open, clear and organized forum. Anyone found to be openly undermining any official ruling by a staff member will be warned.
4. Signatures: One picture only and no links. Images: To keep the forum looking neat and tidy, we ask that members insert just one picture only in their signatures. The picture should be no more than 200x500 pixels and should be of an appropriate subject, for example, your dogs and their names. Should you need assistance creating an appropriate signature, please PM an Admin and we would be happy to help! This is to ensure that signatures remain a welcome addition to our forum instead of a cumbersome distraction. Links: Hyperlinks in signatures--unless to a personal blog or photo stream of your dogs (like Flckr or Piscasa, for example)--are strictly prohibited. Please PM a staff member with any questions or concerns regarding this rule.
Rescue Spotlight
Our current rescue spotlight is:

Tails of the Tundra Siberian Husky Rescue!

Top Dog Website Award Winner!

Top Website
for
Siberian

Huskys


Share | .
 

 Blue Buffalo opinions.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
mbarnard0429
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2011-08-07
Location : Michigan

PostSubject: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sat May 26, 2012 5:31 am

Alright guys, we have definitely made the switch to grandma Lucy's but we want a kibble to supplement. We are currently finishing arcana, but were hoping to find something a bit more cost effective because of the high price for pureformance. That being said, I was considering blue wilderness but I wanted to ask everyone their opinions first.

Can't wait to hear from you all.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/mheath2
Snow White
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-04-02
Location : Maryland

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sat May 26, 2012 11:49 am

Sura has been on blue wilderness for almost 7 months now with minimal problems. I will say that the food doesn't smell great and Sura didn't seem to like it at first since it wasn't sprayed with miscellaneous animal fats like Purina. She's gotten used to it though and eats it without fuss.
Back to top Go down
Heather!
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-05-13
Location : Colorado Springs, CO

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sat May 26, 2012 1:15 pm

Both my dogs got sick on all the formulas aside from the duck, which I bought solely because I was waiting for my online order to arrive. A lot of dogs I know get really bad runs from BW.

A great food around the same price is Earthborn- grain free, no potatoes (huge plus for me, I don't like potatoes). Same deal with Nature's Variety Instinct.
Back to top Go down
arooroomom
Husky Collector
avatar

Female Join date : 2009-12-13
Location : South Fl

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sat May 26, 2012 1:20 pm

We tried Blue Wilderness, just something about it I didn't like. They did OK on it. We much prefer Acana over BW. Earthborn is nice too.

_________________
Force Free Training Thread
Cheyenne, Mishka, Mickey, Rodeo, & Odin

Are you a Husky owner in South Florida?! Join our facebook meetup group!
Back to top Go down
mbarnard0429
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2011-08-07
Location : Michigan

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sat May 26, 2012 3:32 pm

Maybe we will stick scans, I just get a discount on bw plus we would still have grandma Lucy's as their primary foos
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/mheath2
MelissaI
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2010-10-01
Location : Miami,FL

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sat May 26, 2012 3:37 pm

Mya was on BW for about a year and did fine on it, but Kody did horrible on it!!! We actually just finished transitioning them over to Acana. It's cheaper than Wellness Core Ocean that they were on. If their primary food is going to be Grandma Lucys then I'll just stick to the Acana. When their primary food was THK I had them on Orijen since the bag would last a long time.
Back to top Go down
NadirCs
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-03-28
Location : Vienna, VA

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sat May 26, 2012 9:48 pm

We used Buffalo Wilderness (the chicken one) for 2 years without any eating or pooping issues, but my dog also doesn't have a picky stomach. We switched to Wellness Core because our pet store started only carrying BW Duck. (I used to raise ducks so I just can't bring myself to buy that one Rolling Eyes )
Back to top Go down
mbarnard0429
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2011-08-07
Location : Michigan

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sat May 26, 2012 10:04 pm

Which store was it Jenny? A big one like petco?
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/mheath2
Huskyluv
Resident Nutritional Bookworm
avatar

Female Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : Huntsville, AL

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sat May 26, 2012 11:42 pm

Blue Wilderness is decent, the only formula that agrees with my sibe is the duck formula. I'm certainly not in love with Blue Wilderness and it's not a top pick of mine, however I do use it as part of my rotation along with other quality kibbles like Orijen and Nature's Variety.

_________________
Back to top Go down
NadirCs
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-03-28
Location : Vienna, VA

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 1:08 am

mheath0429 wrote:
Which store was it Jenny? A big one like petco?
Yea, we used to buy BW Chicken at Petsmart and then moved to a place that only had a Petco. The Petco and the local "boutique" pet store here stopped selling the big bag of BW Chicken. But, Petco sells Wellness Core which seems to be pretty good.
Back to top Go down
Niraya
Breeding Subject Moderator
avatar

Female Join date : 2011-08-30
Location : Easton, Pennsylvania

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 1:16 am

Bella did AWFUL on Blue Buffalo. She was sick for 2 months with constant diarrhea. I've heard my fair share of dogs that have had problems with it as well.

_________________


Back to top Go down
LifeInSnowMotion
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-05-14
Location : Raleigh, NC

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 1:53 am

Great. I just started Snow on this. I thought I was weaning her right but today her poops are slightly runny. Why must choosing the right food be so confusing...
Back to top Go down
Niraya
Breeding Subject Moderator
avatar

Female Join date : 2011-08-30
Location : Easton, Pennsylvania

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 1:55 am

SnowPatrol wrote:
Great. I just started Snow on this. I thought I was weaning her right but today her poops are slightly runny. Why must choosing the right food be so confusing...

To make our lives more difficult! You can also add a bit of pumpkin to her food for a bit and then take her off the pumpkin and see how her stools are.

_________________


Back to top Go down
NadirCs
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-03-28
Location : Vienna, VA

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 2:02 am

Does anyone on here who had issues with BW know what is in it that causes problems?
Back to top Go down
Huskyluv
Resident Nutritional Bookworm
avatar

Female Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : Huntsville, AL

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 4:13 am

There's nothing "wrong" with BB. As with ANY food, some dogs will do well on it while others won't.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Heather!
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-05-13
Location : Colorado Springs, CO

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 10:38 am

SnowPatrol wrote:
Great. I just started Snow on this. I thought I was weaning her right but today her poops are slightly runny. Why must choosing the right food be so confusing...

People on here can attest, I went through probably 17 different foods in a year span trying to figure out what would cooperate with my male's stomach. And of course, he decided the most expensive stuff (Ziwipeak) was the winner, haha.
Back to top Go down
HarlosHealthyPets
Puppy
Puppy
avatar

Male Join date : 2012-05-01
Location : Hollywood, FL

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 11:21 am

Personally, I would probably stick with Acana over BB. If you wanted to save a some money, you could switch from Acana Pacifica to Acana Wild Prairie formula
Back to top Go down
http://www.harloshealthypets.com
mbarnard0429
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2011-08-07
Location : Michigan

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 1:54 pm

Well, I think I will add BW to the rotation of Kibble and go between Acana Wild Praire and BW Salmon - that way they can have a little variety (plus Delilah did great on the BW salmon before, her coat was phenomenal)
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/mheath2
HarlosHealthyPets
Puppy
Puppy
avatar

Male Join date : 2012-05-01
Location : Hollywood, FL

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 5:43 pm

LOL...my dogs' favorite food is Orijen Regional Red Meat Formula...of course the most expensive thing they could eat....and of course they aren't getting that right now. Every now and again they get a bag of it, but mainly get the Orijen Adult Formula(which isn't cheap either, but a lot cheaper than the Regional Red)

@Heather! wrote:
SnowPatrol wrote:
Great. I just started Snow on this. I thought I was weaning her right but today her poops are slightly runny. Why must choosing the right food be so confusing...

People on here can attest, I went through probably 17 different foods in a year span trying to figure out what would cooperate with my male's stomach. And of course, he decided the most expensive stuff (Ziwipeak) was the winner, haha.
Back to top Go down
http://www.harloshealthypets.com
mbarnard0429
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2011-08-07
Location : Michigan

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 6:41 pm

David, if we weren't already spending a lot for Grandma Lucy's Pureformance, I would have no problem going with Orijen. But, they both really love the freeze dried. They jump for joy Breakfast and Dinner (They get kibble for lunch). I have them both on a 3x a day routine while Cato is a puppy, we didn't think it was fair to Delilah if she didn't get fed too.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/mheath2
HarlosHealthyPets
Puppy
Puppy
avatar

Male Join date : 2012-05-01
Location : Hollywood, FL

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 6:52 pm

I hear you...these dogs definitely aren't cheap...but worth every penny.
If I could afford the Regional Red formula, they'd be getting it more often, but maybe they'll get a bag of it for Christmas...LOL

mheath0429 wrote:
David, if we weren't already spending a lot for Grandma Lucy's Pureformance, I would have no problem going with Orijen. But, they both really love the freeze dried. They jump for joy Breakfast and Dinner (They get kibble for lunch). I have them both on a 3x a day routine while Cato is a puppy, we didn't think it was fair to Delilah if she didn't get fed too.
Back to top Go down
http://www.harloshealthypets.com
snrose
Adult
Adult
avatar

Female Join date : 2010-10-05
Location : Roanoke, VA

PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   Sun May 27, 2012 10:15 pm

mine did great on BW...i switched to TOTW because it was a tad cheaper but of course the recalls ruined that...haha. i think i'm goign to put them back on it. they seemed to like it
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Blue Buffalo opinions.   

Back to top Go down
 

Blue Buffalo opinions.

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» Blue Frog?
» Exciting product !! Buffalo loam / compost
» Which Ball Blue Book
» Blue Bibb Salad
» Texas Blue Bonnets

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
It's a Husky Thing - Siberian Husky Forum :: Advice and Discussion Forums :: Nutrition and Feeding-