It's a Husky Thing - Siberian Husky Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.


A forum for owners of the Siberian Husky.
 
HomeSearchRegisterRegisterLog in
Congratulations Nikita, Archer, and Cheyanne!, our November HOTM winners! HOTM Will Be Taking An Indefinite Break!
Husky of the Month
Congrats Nikita, Archer, and Cheyanne,
our November HOTM Winners!
Husky Cuddles!





Thanks to all for this month's entries!
Forum Rules
1. Here we prefer clarity to agreement. Obviously not everyone is going to agree on a topic; here we prefer to talk out our differences in a respectful manner to ensure mutual understanding and respect.
2. Read the Stickies and Announcements. Each sub-forum may have specific rules which trump the Forum Rules in cases where there may be conflicting information. Read the rules of each board before you post so that you are clear on the expectations of the staff.
3. Respect ALL Staff and Admins. These people volunteer of their time and MUST be respected as well as their word adhered to. They are responsible for maintaining a free, open, clear and organized forum. Anyone found to be openly undermining any official ruling by a staff member will be warned.
4. Signatures: One picture only and no links. Images: To keep the forum looking neat and tidy, we ask that members insert just one picture only in their signatures. The picture should be no more than 200x500 pixels and should be of an appropriate subject, for example, your dogs and their names. Should you need assistance creating an appropriate signature, please PM an Admin and we would be happy to help! This is to ensure that signatures remain a welcome addition to our forum instead of a cumbersome distraction. Links: Hyperlinks in signatures--unless to a personal blog or photo stream of your dogs (like Flckr or Piscasa, for example)--are strictly prohibited. Please PM a staff member with any questions or concerns regarding this rule.
Rescue Spotlight
Our current rescue spotlight is:

Delaware Valley Siberian Husky Rescue!

Top Dog Website Award Winner!

Top Website
for
Siberian

Huskys


Share
 

 Hello guys. i need your opinions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Zeroskills
Newborn
Newborn
Zeroskills

Join date : 2013-05-21

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:18 am

hello i joined the forum because i am trying to learn as much as possible about huskies before i dive in. ive always wanted a husky and now my girlfriend and i are moving into our first apartment(we live in new York city) she wants to get a dachshund and i of course want a husky. even though we its an apartment, there is a huge park across the street(literally). so the exercice would not be a problem. i was just wondering if anyone had tried having these two breeds living together. or if its a really bad idea affraid
Back to top Go down
Huskyluv
Resident Nutritional Bookworm
Huskyluv

Female Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : Huntsville, AL

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:26 am

I have a husky and two Chihuahuas so a sibe and dachshund should be fine, you'll just have to take extra precautions to prevent accidental injury to the smaller dog.

_________________
Hello guys. i need your opinions Summer10
Back to top Go down
wpskier222
Senior
Senior
wpskier222

Female Join date : 2013-02-11
Location : NYC

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:33 am

Yay!!! Another NYC person! Welcome!
Back to top Go down
Zeroskills
Newborn
Newborn
Zeroskills

Join date : 2013-05-21

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:37 am

@Huskyluv wrote:
I have a husky and two Chihuahuas so a sibe and dachshund should be fine, you'll just have to take extra precautions to prevent accidental injury to the smaller dog.
we were thinking about buying both of them around the same time. i know it would be harder to train and more stressful but i feel that this way they will get along better.
Back to top Go down
Zeroskills
Newborn
Newborn
Zeroskills

Join date : 2013-05-21

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:38 am

@wpskier222 wrote:
Yay!!! Another NYC person! Welcome!
THANKS wave
Back to top Go down
wpskier222
Senior
Senior
wpskier222

Female Join date : 2013-02-11
Location : NYC

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:42 am

Once you do your research and decide if this is the breed for you, I can help you out with some recommendations on breeders/rescues within driving distance of the city. I wouldn't worry about getting them at the same time so they get along better. As long as their personalities mesh, I think they'll get along either way. Are you thinking about getting puppies or rescuing older dogs?
Back to top Go down
Huskyluv
Resident Nutritional Bookworm
Huskyluv

Female Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : Huntsville, AL

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:47 am

@Zeroskills wrote:
@Huskyluv wrote:
I have a husky and two Chihuahuas so a sibe and dachshund should be fine, you'll just have to take extra precautions to prevent accidental injury to the smaller dog.
we were thinking about buying both of them around the same time. i know it would be harder to train and more stressful but i feel that this way they will get along better.

Well consider this, puppies are very playful and haven't yet learned boundaries and how to be gentle. Yes puppies can learn from each other, but typically they learn from similar size puppies and the size difference between a dachshund and sibe puppy are considerable. My biggest concern is the sibe puppy being far too rough with the dachshund pup and possibly leaving the dachshund terrified of larger dogs and hating your sibe. Not saying this will happen but a possible scenario to keep in mind. I would think it easier to tone down and control an adult sibe dealing with a dachshund puppy but it's certainly manageable if you opt for two puppies at one time. I just don't know if you realize how much more work your situation will require compared to getting two similar size puppies simultaneously.

I rescued all my dogs as adults so dealing with integration was a lot easier for us.

_________________
Hello guys. i need your opinions Summer10
Back to top Go down
Zeroskills
Newborn
Newborn
Zeroskills

Join date : 2013-05-21

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:51 am

@Huskyluv wrote:
@Zeroskills wrote:
@Huskyluv wrote:
I have a husky and two Chihuahuas so a sibe and dachshund should be fine, you'll just have to take extra precautions to prevent accidental injury to the smaller dog.
we were thinking about buying both of them around the same time. i know it would be harder to train and more stressful but i feel that this way they will get along better.

Well consider this, puppies are very playful and haven't yet learned boundaries and how to be gentle. Yes puppies can learn from each other, but typically they learn from similar size puppies and the size difference between a dachshund and sibe puppy are considerable. My biggest concern is the sibe puppy being far too rough with the dachshund pup and possibly leaving the dachshund terrified of larger dogs and hating your sibe. Not saying this will happen but a possible scenario to keep in mind. I would think it easier to tone down and control an adult sibe dealing with a dachshund puppy but it's certainly manageable if you opt for two puppies at one time. I just don't know if you realize how much more work your situation will require compared to getting two similar size puppies simultaneously.

I rescued all my dogs as adults so dealing with integration was a lot easier for us.
thats another thing i was thinking about. i wouldnt want the sibe to traumatize the smaller dachshund and then they would not be able to live together. thats why i am trying to find the best way to accommodate the two in the best way possible
Back to top Go down
Zeroskills
Newborn
Newborn
Zeroskills

Join date : 2013-05-21

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:52 am

@wpskier222 wrote:
Once you do your research and decide if this is the breed for you, I can help you out with some recommendations on breeders/rescues within driving distance of the city. I wouldn't worry about getting them at the same time so they get along better. As long as their personalities mesh, I think they'll get along either way. Are you thinking about getting puppies or rescuing older dogs?
we are thinking about getting pups we want to get pure breeds or as close as possible. i have seen some breeders in the city but none of them stand out
Back to top Go down
wpskier222
Senior
Senior
wpskier222

Female Join date : 2013-02-11
Location : NYC

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 11:54 am

@wpskier222 wrote:
Once you do your research and decide if this is the breed for you, I can help you out with some recommendations on breeders/rescues within driving distance of the city. I wouldn't worry about getting them at the same time so they get along better. As long as their personalities mesh, I think they'll get along either way. Are you thinking about getting puppies or rescuing older dogs?

To clarify, I meant, it is not necessary to get them at the same time for them to get along. I agree with Val, I brought my puppy home 2.5 weeks ago, and he has been an extreme amount of work. I can't imagine having another totally different sized puppy with totally different needs.
Back to top Go down
wpskier222
Senior
Senior
wpskier222

Female Join date : 2013-02-11
Location : NYC

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 12:03 pm

I was not able to find a good breeder in the city. I found a few in the surrounding area and ended up going to Nando Siberians in MA. To me, it seems like the best course of action would be to get the dachshund puppy first, and when he/she is 6-12 months, think about getting the siberian. I think its a little early to look for a breeder since you have so much planning and thinking to do. My puppy plays very rough and although he was with his litter mates until 9 weeks, he is still learning what is okay and what is not with play. He could very easily accidently seriously injure a small breed puppy.
Back to top Go down
Zeroskills
Newborn
Newborn
Zeroskills

Join date : 2013-05-21

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 12:08 pm

@wpskier222 wrote:
I was not able to find a good breeder in the city. I found a few in the surrounding area and ended up going to Nando Siberians in MA. To me, it seems like the best course of action would be to get the dachshund puppy first, and when he/she is 6-12 months, think about getting the siberian. I think its a little early to look for a breeder since you have so much planning and thinking to do. My puppy plays very rough and although he was with his litter mates until 9 weeks, he is still learning what is okay and what is not with play. He could very easily accidently seriously injure a small breed puppy.
i think that would be the best course of action to get the dachshund first and once he is of a bigger size we can bring the sibe in. its going to suck to wait but in the end it will be worth it. in the mean time i'll just keep doing research
Back to top Go down
wpskier222
Senior
Senior
wpskier222

Female Join date : 2013-02-11
Location : NYC

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 12:19 pm

That will help you so much when you bring him home. Smile The more you know, the more prepared you'll be! This is one of the best places for research, I've learned so much since joining, and this isn't my first husky. Are you in Manhattan or one of the boros?
Back to top Go down
Zeroskills
Newborn
Newborn
Zeroskills

Join date : 2013-05-21

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 12:25 pm

@wpskier222 wrote:
That will help you so much when you bring him home. Smile The more you know, the more prepared you'll be! This is one of the best places for research, I've learned so much since joining, and this isn't my first husky. Are you in Manhattan or one of the boros?
our apartment is right across the street from pelham bay park in the bronx
Back to top Go down
wpskier222
Senior
Senior
wpskier222

Female Join date : 2013-02-11
Location : NYC

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyTue May 21, 2013 12:27 pm

Ah cool! I'm right by Riverside park in Manhattan Valley. Smile
Back to top Go down
hypers987
Senior
Senior
hypers987

Female Join date : 2011-08-25
Location : Santa Cruz, California

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyWed May 22, 2013 12:28 am

I have a Doxie mix and one male Sibe. Violet (my doxie) was 7 yrs when I got Kale (sibe). Violet doesn't play often, but when they do, Kale knows to play laying down, and gently. Violet taught him how to play with small dogs (Kale was 5 weeks when I brought him home, smaller than Violet lol). The only thing that I caution you on if getting both as puppies, is that Dachshunds are prone to back problems due to the their abnormally long backs, and rough puppy play, especially with a Sibe, may injure him/her. I always stop their play when Kale starts to get over zealous. Other than that, they get along smashingly! They even share Kale's bed lol Violet's a hardy little gal, and can go on 5 mile walks with Kale and I as well, most Doxie's can't go that far, so that's another thing to keep in mind. The exercise requirements are different, so a normal 1.5 hour walk that your Sibe can handle, your Doxie may not be able to.

Hello guys. i need your opinions Img_1110

Hello guys. i need your opinions Img_1310
Back to top Go down
http://instagram.com/kalethehusky
Zeroskills
Newborn
Newborn
Zeroskills

Join date : 2013-05-21

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptyWed May 22, 2013 9:23 am

@hypers987 wrote:
I have a Doxie mix and one male Sibe. Violet (my doxie) was 7 yrs when I got Kale (sibe). Violet doesn't play often, but when they do, Kale knows to play laying down, and gently. Violet taught him how to play with small dogs (Kale was 5 weeks when I brought him home, smaller than Violet lol). The only thing that I caution you on if getting both as puppies, is that Dachshunds are prone to back problems due to the their abnormally long backs, and rough puppy play, especially with a Sibe, may injure him/her. I always stop their play when Kale starts to get over zealous. Other than that, they get along smashingly! They even share Kale's bed lol Violet's a hardy little gal, and can go on 5 mile walks with Kale and I as well, most Doxie's can't go that far, so that's another thing to keep in mind. The exercise requirements are different, so a normal 1.5 hour walk that your Sibe can handle, your Doxie may not be able to.

Hello guys. i need your opinions Img_1110

Hello guys. i need your opinions Img_1310
that is awesome!!!! Those pictures are what we had in mind. I think that if I train the sibe from puppyhood to not play rough and always supervise them everything should be fine. Im aware of the back problems so I was concerned about all the walking. Thank you so much for the info and the pictures
Back to top Go down
Zeroskills
Newborn
Newborn
Zeroskills

Join date : 2013-05-21

Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions EmptySat Jun 08, 2013 10:49 pm

guys got the husky today!! his name is zeus and he's about 10 weeks old l Hello guys. i need your opinions Husky10
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello guys. i need your opinions   Hello guys. i need your opinions Empty

Back to top Go down
 

Hello guys. i need your opinions

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» Need opinions on spinach
» Sand? Opinions?
» Sleeping Beauty Melon
» How'd you make it through the tornadoes over the weekend? Please check in
» Hi Guys this is Mel !!!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
It's a Husky Thing - Siberian Husky Forum :: It's A Husky Thing :: The Welcome Mat-