A forum for owners of the Siberian Husky.
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterRegisterLog in
Congratulations Wolf and Graham!, our June HOTM winners! HOTM - July : TBA!
Husky of the Month
Congrats Wolf and Graham,
our June HOTM Winners!
Kick Off to Summer!





Thanks to all for this month's entries!
Forum Rules
1. Here we prefer clarity to agreement. Obviously not everyone is going to agree on a topic; here we prefer to talk out our differences in a respectful manner to ensure mutual understanding and respect.
2. Read the Stickies and Announcements. Each sub-forum may have specific rules which trump the Forum Rules in cases where there may be conflicting information. Read the rules of each board before you post so that you are clear on the expectations of the staff.
3. Respect ALL Staff and Admins. These people volunteer of their time and MUST be respected as well as their word adhered to. They are responsible for maintaining a free, open, clear and organized forum. Anyone found to be openly undermining any official ruling by a staff member will be warned.
4. Signatures: One picture only and no links. Images: To keep the forum looking neat and tidy, we ask that members insert just one picture only in their signatures. The picture should be no more than 200x500 pixels and should be of an appropriate subject, for example, your dogs and their names. Should you need assistance creating an appropriate signature, please PM an Admin and we would be happy to help! This is to ensure that signatures remain a welcome addition to our forum instead of a cumbersome distraction. Links: Hyperlinks in signatures--unless to a personal blog or photo stream of your dogs (like Flckr or Piscasa, for example)--are strictly prohibited. Please PM a staff member with any questions or concerns regarding this rule.
Rescue Spotlight

COMING SOON!

Each month we will spotlight a new husky rescue here.
Top Dog Website Award Winner!

Top Website
for
Siberian

Huskys


Share | .
 

 Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Donna5503
Newborn
Newborn
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-08-20
Location : Jersey City, New Jersey

PostSubject: Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?   Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:53 pm

Hi everyone......my Husky is such a finicky eater - he can love something one day & the next put his nose up to it! Does anyone have this problem? I've been feeding him Go, Grain Free Kibble & EVO, Grain Free Salmon & Herrring - it's not cheap, so it gets me upset when he won't eat it & it goes to waste. Sad

As Husky owners, I'm wondering what the top Husky kibble is fed here - curiousity to see if I've tried them or not ---- thanks everyone Smile
Back to top Go down
jbealer
Husky Stalker
avatar

Female Join date : 2009-05-29
Location : Denver, CO

PostSubject: Re: Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?   Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:00 pm

http://www.itsahuskything.com/t174-what-are-you-feeding-your-husky
this would be a great start to answer your question Wink

_________________
Back to top Go down
Huskyluv
Resident Nutritional Bookworm
avatar

Female Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : Huntsville, AL

PostSubject: Re: Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?   Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:20 pm

@jbealer wrote:
http://www.itsahuskything.com/t174-what-are-you-feeding-your-husky
this would be a great start to answer your question Wink

Ditto.

Also, it sounds like your husky is not necessarily finicky but rather would prefer to hold out for something else and has his owner well trained so that if he refuses his food he will get something different. If he likes it one day then there is no reason he should not eat it the next. Sounds like some tough love is in order. And if he skips one meal there is no reason to toss the food and waste it, just cover the bowl or put the uneaten food into another sealed container until his next normal feeding time then offer it again (of course if wet food is used or water added then refrigerate).

_________________
Back to top Go down
Online
Ashleymarie9807
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-08-25
Location : NYC

PostSubject: Re: Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?   Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:25 pm

Mine can not handle anything but Natures Recipe gentle digestion..Everything else gives him the runs.
Back to top Go down
KareBear
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Female Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : London, Ontario

PostSubject: Re: Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?   Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:01 pm

Links have already been posted, of course. As well as great advice. But the short answer on this one is that its going to vary dog by dog. Aevyn eats Orijen, and does -very- well on it where as he didn't do so well on brands that many of the owners here use.
Back to top Go down
SiberianKaia
Newborn
Newborn
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Albany New York

PostSubject: Re: Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?   Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:39 pm

Hi There,

I have Kaia on Blue Buffalo Wilderness-Puppy Formula. It is grain and gluten free and the most abundant ingredient is protein. I am going to stick with the Blue Buffalo Brand throughout her life. For me she eats it no problem and I have had her almost 2 weeks now. I started her on a raw diet, which I soon realized was not practical for me, with my schedule, budget etc. I truly believe the Blue Buffalo Brand is top notch as far as Kibble is concerned and Kaia definitely "wolfs" it down no pun intended.

On Kaia's first vet visit I brought the Blue Buffalo to the appointment and the veterinarian also approved of my choice giving her the Blue Buffalo Wilderness formula- not that my vet is the end all be all of animal medicine but it is nice to have reassurance from someone with the education and background for a new owner.

Also for treats, she gets frozen, cut up pieces of boiled chicken breast (usually these are high reward), I also alternate the chicken pieces with Blue Buffalo Wilderness grain free/gluten free salmon/chicken squares, which I cut up into 1/4 pieces of the actual square to make it last and so that she is not inundated with treats. I will also stuff a small kong with raw pumpkin and plain greek yogurt mix which she likes.

As far as zero calorie treats are concerned I give her ice cubes Razz

Obviously every dog takes to certain brands differently and as owners we have preferences of what to feed and what not to feed. I have over 5+ years of education in science, nutrition, and medicine. I am working toward a second masters degree in Physician Assistant studies., so I think it is fair to say I am very interested in the body and medical concerns. Having a dog now has made me delve into the inner workings of their anatomy/physiology as well. Also my brother is a certified person trainer and nutrition guru, so eating healthy based on what is anatomically and physiologically pertinent is important to us.

We both truly believe that just as humans sometimes have adverse reactions to gluten, grains, etc (carbohydrates) animals can be equally affected.

For us we choose to feed Kaia a grain and gluten free diet with both meals and treats.

All the best

Scott and Kaia
Back to top Go down
Balonsmom
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2012-05-02
Location : MD

PostSubject: Re: Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?   Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:18 am

My Balon was on Nutro Ultra from the breeder and had loose mushy stools the whole time. He would not touch Orijen or Acana, so I finally put him on Blue Wilderness Salmon and he loves it and has nice firm stools on it. My vet hates all holistic diets saying they aren't researched enough lol, she likes Iams, ugh! So we don't talk about food lol.
Back to top Go down
harrise
The Gentleman


Male Join date : 2009-06-16

PostSubject: Re: Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?   Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:26 am

Ooh! Let me guess! Is it Dr. Tim's?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?   

Back to top Go down
 

Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» Top Husky Kibble in your opinion?
» Help with new Husky. Kibble recommendations?
» Underweight husky help?
» Brands of kibble.
» Bella the Husky

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
It's a Husky Thing - Siberian Husky Forum :: Advice and Discussion Forums :: Nutrition and Feeding-