A forum for owners of the Siberian Husky.
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterRegisterLog in
Congratulations Wolf and Graham!, our June HOTM winners! HOTM - July : TBA!
Husky of the Month
Congrats Wolf and Graham,
our June HOTM Winners!
Kick Off to Summer!





Thanks to all for this month's entries!
Forum Rules
1. Here we prefer clarity to agreement. Obviously not everyone is going to agree on a topic; here we prefer to talk out our differences in a respectful manner to ensure mutual understanding and respect.
2. Read the Stickies and Announcements. Each sub-forum may have specific rules which trump the Forum Rules in cases where there may be conflicting information. Read the rules of each board before you post so that you are clear on the expectations of the staff.
3. Respect ALL Staff and Admins. These people volunteer of their time and MUST be respected as well as their word adhered to. They are responsible for maintaining a free, open, clear and organized forum. Anyone found to be openly undermining any official ruling by a staff member will be warned.
4. Signatures: One picture only and no links. Images: To keep the forum looking neat and tidy, we ask that members insert just one picture only in their signatures. The picture should be no more than 200x500 pixels and should be of an appropriate subject, for example, your dogs and their names. Should you need assistance creating an appropriate signature, please PM an Admin and we would be happy to help! This is to ensure that signatures remain a welcome addition to our forum instead of a cumbersome distraction. Links: Hyperlinks in signatures--unless to a personal blog or photo stream of your dogs (like Flckr or Piscasa, for example)--are strictly prohibited. Please PM a staff member with any questions or concerns regarding this rule.
Rescue Spotlight

COMING SOON!

Each month we will spotlight a new husky rescue here.
Top Dog Website Award Winner!

Top Website
for
Siberian

Huskys


Share | .
 

 I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Daher928
Newborn
Newborn


Join date : 2016-03-20

PostSubject: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Sun Mar 20, 2016 7:48 pm

I have this 5 months husky, and I want to make sure that is a breed husky not any kind of mix. The guy who gave it to me when the puppy was 2 months said it is a breed dog, both parents are huskies.
please help. THANK YOU ! Smile






Back to top Go down
Mark Grubbs
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Male Join date : 2016-01-10
Location : Long Island, NY

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Sun Mar 20, 2016 7:53 pm

Well it sure isn't a Chihuahua! Looks like a Husky, but unless you have paperwork, it is hard to say that it is or isn't mixed. Sure does look like a Husky, though. If I saw it at the park and you told me it was a Husky, I would believe it.
Back to top Go down
aljones
Senior
Senior
avatar

Male Join date : 2014-08-18
Location : Terlingua, Texas

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Sun Mar 20, 2016 7:56 pm

Assuming that these are the same dog - and I'm not really sure they are - the puppy looks like a typical Husky pup.  

The saddle on the adult and the set of the ears, however makes me lean more toward a Husky / Shepherd (GSD) mix.

In either case (s)he's a good looking dog.

@miyasmomma You're the expert on GSD/Husky mixes, what do you think??

_________________

“Properly trained, a man can be dog’s best friend.”
Corey Ford
Back to top Go down
TwisterII
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2013-06-14
Location : Missouri

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:31 pm

There might be some gsd in there but I would be more apt to think a ways down the line. Not half and half. More like a great great great grand dog was half gsd. He's definitely got a set of ears. Very pretty dog none the less.

_________________
Back to top Go down
MiyasMomma
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2014-06-26
Location : west Texas

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:49 am

I am asking the same question as Al, is this the same dog? And if so how old is he in the more current pic? the puppy pic he looks 100% all husky. The second pic, could be some gsd way back, but I still see all husky, especially if he is under a year in that pic. Sorry just seen that he is 5 months old. well then, I am sticking to all husky until he is over a year old, and lets see if his ears catch up to his body. a few things to understand about huskies, they are a medium sized dog, so at 5 months old they look all grown and have huge ears (this is typical from 5-8 months), all legs and all ears. Then somewhere around 8 months they will get their last main growth spurt, and the body and ears just forms to the legs and head, and they look like a standard husky. Also, dependent on what the breeder does with his animals will determine the look. You can have 2 pure bred huskies, but are not breed standard, and end up having pups that are slightly taller, heavier and may have slightly larger (gsd like) ears. As of these pics, I will say you have a pure bred husky, just maybe not as breed standard as you may have seen in pics. He is lovely, and I would be very happy with the looks of this dog, quite unique for a red. any more pics?
Back to top Go down
Daher928
Newborn
Newborn


Join date : 2016-03-20

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Mon Mar 21, 2016 4:35 am

Thank you guys, and yes this is the same dog.
I recently got photos of the husky's father, im posting the pictures of the father here, it looks so identical.



The mother/bitch thou is black, but my husky look like it's father.
Back to top Go down
Daher928
Newborn
Newborn


Join date : 2016-03-20

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:10 am

@MiyasMomma wrote:
I am asking the same question as Al, is this the same dog? And if so how old is he in the more current pic? the puppy pic he looks 100% all husky. The second pic, could be some gsd way back, but I still see all husky, especially if he is under a year in that pic. Sorry just seen that he is 5 months old. well then, I am sticking to all husky until he is over a year old, and lets see if his ears catch up to his body. a few things to understand about huskies, they are a medium sized dog, so at 5 months old they look all grown and have huge ears (this is typical from 5-8 months), all legs and all ears. Then somewhere around 8 months they will get their last main growth spurt, and the body and ears just forms to the legs and head, and they look like a standard husky. Also, dependent on what the breeder does with his animals will determine the look. You can have 2 pure bred huskies, but are not breed standard, and end up having pups that are slightly taller, heavier and may have slightly larger (gsd like) ears. As of these pics, I will say you have a pure bred husky, just maybe not as breed standard as you may have seen in pics. He is lovely, and I would be very happy with the looks of this dog, quite unique for a red. any more pics?

I will post more photos of the puppy now (5 months old)




Back to top Go down
Mark Grubbs
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Male Join date : 2016-01-10
Location : Long Island, NY

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:17 am

Picture #3.... Pure breed Husky all the way! No need for a dna test, don't need no papers... Look at that smile! Only a Husky can make that goofy face!

Everyone might say "Oh the camera caught her while she was blinking." However, I am willing to bet that she posed like that and held that position for 7 minutes while you went to the other room, got your camera, powered it up, focused, and then took 8 pictures of her.

Good lookin dog.
Back to top Go down
whitehusky3
Teenager
Teenager
avatar

Female Join date : 2016-02-10
Location : Reedsville, WI, USA

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:51 am

I would also say it's a purebred Husky. Smile Beautiful dog!
Back to top Go down
aljones
Senior
Senior
avatar

Male Join date : 2014-08-18
Location : Terlingua, Texas

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:07 pm

Looks like I'm completely outvoted! That's also why I suggest that others comments ... my own uncertainty.

_________________

“Properly trained, a man can be dog’s best friend.”
Corey Ford
Back to top Go down
Daher928
Newborn
Newborn


Join date : 2016-03-20

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:23 am

Recent photo, an hour ago..
Her eye colors are changing is that normal ?
Back to top Go down
TwisterII
Senior
Senior
avatar

Female Join date : 2013-06-14
Location : Missouri

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:03 am

Huskies eyes will change quite a bit as they age. many of the blue eyed dogs will start out very brilliantly blue and then lighten to silver with time. In a nutshell most dogs eyes will change about as much as their coat that first year and then lighten with age.

_________________
Back to top Go down
Daher928
Newborn
Newborn


Join date : 2016-03-20

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:54 am



RECENT PHOTO
Back to top Go down
aljones
Senior
Senior
avatar

Male Join date : 2014-08-18
Location : Terlingua, Texas

PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:37 pm

Personally, I wouldn't care whether she is pure or not, she's definitely a pretty animal!

(( and I agree from the 3rd and 4th pictures in your March 21st set - she's Husky! ))

_________________

“Properly trained, a man can be dog’s best friend.”
Corey Ford
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed   

Back to top Go down
 

I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» I need your opinion about wither my dog is a real husky or mixed
» wing butts
» Redknee(Mark)
» Tomato Automators
» Pigs ears???

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
It's a Husky Thing - Siberian Husky Forum :: Advice and Discussion Forums :: General Discussions-